Skip to Content View Previous Reports

Authors & Collaborators

Many individuals contributed to this report.

From the Project, researchers conducted the data aggregation and served as the primary writer for the following media sectors: Katerina-Eva Matsa for the magazine chapter, Kenny Olmstead for the digital chapter, Emily Guskin for the network and Native American chapters, Jesse Holcomb for the cable television chapter and Laura Santhanam for the audio chapter. Monica Anderson wrote the alternative weeklies section.

In addition, Ms. Matsa conducted the data aggregation, analysis and visual displays for the local television chapter and Ms. Guskin for the newspaper chapter.

Dana Page supervised web graphics, interactive and visual displays as well as press relations. Kenny Olmstead supervised the technical web developments. Mr. Holcomb and Ms. Page served as project managers.

For the Year in the News, Mark Jurkowitz wrote the narrative. The content analysis was supervised by Paul Hitlin, Hong Ji, Mahvish Shahid Khan and Tricia Sartor, who also managed the creation and execution of graphics. The content analysis execution was performed by the staff of PEJ with special help from Kevin Caldwell, Laura Houston Santhanam, Sovini Tan and Nancy Vogt. Cheryl Elzey managed the budget.

Amy Mitchell and Tom Rosenstiel supervised the project, edited the chapters and wrote the overview and the two survey reports.

Irv Molotsky was the copy editor.

Outside the Project, Rick Edmonds of the Poynter Institute co-authored the chapter on newspapers, Deborah Potter of Newslab co-authored the local TV chapter and served as a reader for the network chapter. Jane Sasseen, a freelance journalist and former editor at Yahoo! News and BusinessWeek Magazine, edited and co-authored the digital and magazine chapters.

Leah Christian of the Pew Research Center for the People and the Press served as the methodologist for the two survey reports. Michael Piccorossi, the Pew Research Center’s director of digital strategy and IT, and Michael Keegan, graphics director, were instrumental in the design and creation of the interactive tools: Who Owns the News Media and A Year in the News. Keegan also designed the graphics for the two special reports. Russell Heimlich, PRC’s web developer, built the report website and was the programmer for the Year in the News tool. Wendy Kelly of WLK Design redesigned the web site and will produce the executive summary.

Among the three dozen people who served as readers of the chapters were Derek Baine, Tom Bettag, David Boardman, Wally Dean, Ken Doctor, Tom Glaisyer, Samir Husni, Martin Kaiser, Seth Lewis, Robert Papper, Markus Prior, Lee Rainie, Alan Seraita, Frank Sesno, Mark Fratik, Christopher Sterling, Loris Taylor, Mark Trahant, Dale Willman, Evans Witt and Diane Mermigas. Their thoughtful insights and suggestions greatly improved the chapters, but the readers are in no way responsible for the analysis or narrative accounts in this report. Moreover, the readers were not sources for information, unless explicitly cited in footnotes. In no case did a reader serve as an anonymous source for anything in the report.

Finally, the project could not have been completed without the extraordinary support, both financially and personally, of the Pew Charitable Trusts, particularly Don Kimelman, a trusted editor, and Rebecca Rimel, whose idea this report was in the first place.