Skip to Content View Previous Reports

Authors & Collaborators

Many partners contributed to this report.

Along with PEJ staff, Rick Edmonds of the Poynter Institute co-authored the chapter on newspapers and Deborah Potter of Newslab co-authored the local TV chapter. The Pew Internet and American Life Project co-authored the survey on the use of mobile technology in local news consumption.

From the Project, researchers conducted the data aggregation and did initial drafting in the following areas: Katerina-Eva Matsa for the local television and magazine chapters, Kenny Olmstead for the online and audio chapters, Emily Guskin for the network, ethnic and alternative media chapters and parts of the newspaper chapter, and Jesse Holcomb for the cable television chapter.

Dana Page supervised web graphics, interactive and visual displays as well as press relations. Kenny Olmstead supervised the technical web developments.

For the Year in the News, Mark Jurkowitz wrote the narrative. The content analysis was supervised by Paul Hitlin, Hong Ji, Mahvish Shahid Khan and Tricia Sartor, who also managed the creation and execution of graphics. The content analysis execution was performed by the staff of PEJ with special help from Kevin Caldwell, Laura Houston Santhanam, Sovini Tan and Nancy Vogt. Steve Adams helped with updating the Who Owns the News Media Database. Cheryl Elzey managed the budget.

Amy Mitchell and Tom Rosenstiel supervised the project, edited the chapters and wrote the analytical components.

Paul Moore helped edit the report and Irv Molotsky was the copy editor.

Outside the Project, Michael Piccorossi, the Pew Research Center’s director of digital strategy and IT, and Michael Keegan, graphics director, were instrumental in the design and creation of the interactive tools: Who Owns the News Media and A Year in the News. Russell Heimlich, PRC’s Web Developer, built the report website and was the programmer for the Year in the News tool. Wendy Kelly of WLK Design redesigned the web site and will produce the executive summary. The Project’s staff put the design into effect. Mark Hugo Lopez, the associate director of the Pew Hispanic Center was involved in the Hispanic Media chapter of the report and also served as a reader.

Among the three dozen people who served as readers of the chapters were Andrew Tyndall, Judy Woodruff, Markus Prior, Charles Bierbauer, Robert Papper, Chris Sterling, Adam Powell, Dale Willman, Jim Farely, Dr. Clint C. Wilson, II, Neil Foote, Dr. Frances Ward-Johnson, Wally Dean, Ed Fouhy,  Tom Bettag, Evans Witt, John Horrigan, Lee Rainie, David Hallerman, Evelyn June, Noah Elkin, Eleanor Powers, Howard Finberg, Victor Navasky, Samir Husni, Diane Mermigas, Mark Fratrik, Bill Kovach, John Carroll, Ken Doctor, Delores Inés Casillas and Félix Gutiérrez.

Their thoughtful insights and suggestions greatly improved the chapters, but the readers are in no way responsible for the analysis or narrative accounts in this report. Moreover, the readers were not sources for information, unless explicitly cited in footnotes. In no case did a reader serve as an anonymous source for anything in the report.

Finally, the project could not have been completed without the extraordinary support, both financially and personally, of the Pew Charitable Trusts, particularly Don Kimelman, a trusted editor, and Rebecca Rimel, whose idea this report was in the first place.