Skip to Content View Previous Reports

Author & Collaborators

About The Study
By the Project For Excellence In Journalism
Authors Collaborators

Many partners contributed to this report.

Rick Edmonds of the Poynter Institute co-wrote the chapter on newspapers with PEJ staff.
From the Project, researchers conducted the data aggregation and did initial drafting in the following areas: Josh Appelbaum for the network and local television chapters, Jon Morgan for the magazine chapter, Kenny Olmstead for the online and audio chapters, Emily Guskin for the ethnic media chapter and parts of the newspaper chapter, and Jesse Holcomb for the cable television chapter.  Rick Edmonds of the Poynter Institute co-authored the newspaper chapter and the Pew Internet and American Life Project co-authored the online chapter. Mark Jurkowitz co-authored the report’s content analysis. The content analysis team included supervision by Hong Ji and Paul Hitlin; graphical analysis by Tricia Sartor and Mahvish Shahid Khan; and content execution by the content staff of PEJ with special help from Laura Houston Santhanam and Nancy Vogt. Vadim Nikitin assisted with the creation of the media ownership tool. Cheryl Elzey managed the budget. Dana Page supervised public relations and visual displays.

Jon Morgan served as senior editor of the report. Amy Mitchell and Tom Rosenstiel supervised the project, edited the chapters and wrote the analytical components.

Irv Molotsky was the copy editor.

Michael Piccorossi, the Pew Research Center’s director of digital strategy and IT, and Michael Keegan, graphics director, were instrumental in the design and creation of the new interactive tools: Who Owns the News Media and A Year in the News. Russell Heimlich, PRC’s Web Developer, was the programmer for the Year in the News tool. Wendy Kelly of WLK Design redesigned the web site and will produce the executive summary. The Project’s staff put the design into effect. Programming consultant Don Bell designed and programmed the interactive tools and charts components.

Among the three dozen people who served as readers of the chapters were Derek Baine, Tom Bettag, Charles Bierbauer, Jim Browder, John Carroll, Wally Dean, Bill Densmore, Ken Doctor, Rick Edmonds, Jim Farley, Lauren Fine, Neil Foote, Mark Fratrik, John Horrigan, Samir Husni, Odette Keeley, Bill Kovach, Mark Lopez, Diane Mermigas, Dick Meyer, Bill Mickey, Victor Navasky, Hayg Oshagan, Robert Papper, Deborah Potter, Adam Powell, Markus Prior, Alan Seraita, Frank Sesno, Chris Sterling, Loris Taylor, Andrew Tyndall, Dale Willman, Clint Wilson II, Evans Witt, and Judy Woodruff. Their thoughtful insights and suggestions greatly improved the chapters, but the readers are in no way responsible for the analysis or narrative accounts in this report. Moreover, the readers were not sources for information, unless explicitly cited in footnotes. In no case did a reader serve as an anonymous source for anything in the report.

Finally, the project could not have been completed without the extraordinary support, both financially and personally, of the Pew Charitable Trusts, particularly Don Kimelman, a trusted editor, and Rebecca Rimel, whose idea this report was in the first place.