Skip to Content View Previous Reports

Authors and Collaborators

Authors and Collaborators

Many partners contributed to this report.

The content analysis was designed by the Project in collaboration with six of those partners, Steve Lacy and Fred Fico of The School of Journalism at Michigan State University, Esther Thorson and Ken Fleming of the University of Missouri School of Journalism, Andrew Tyndall of ADT Research and Lee Ann Brady, formerly of Princeton Survey Research Associates International. The coding of national print media (web sites, newspapers and blogs) was executed by a team at Missouri under the supervision of Fleming and Thorson. The coding of network TV and cable was executed by ADT Research under the supervision of Tyndall. The local news content (print, radio and television) was coded by a team at Michigan under the supervision of Lacy and Fico. All data was generated by the team at Michigan and by Paul Hitlin of the Project. All conclusions and analysis were sent to the team at Michigan for review.

Daniel Riffe, professor of journalism at Ohio University consulted on the design of the study.

The chapter on newspapers was co-authored by Rick Edmonds of the Poynter Institute. The rest of the chapters were written by the staff of the Project. Bill Kovach, the chairman of the Committee of Concerned Journalists, served as a consultant to the Report.

Andrew Tyndall of ADT Research provided tapes, data and gave particularly close reads and copious suggestions on the chapters on network and cable TV.

From the Project: David Vaina conducted the data aggregation for the newspaper and online chapters. Gauri Malhotra and Atiba Pertilla conducted the data aggregation for the cable and local television chapters. Tom Avila conducted the data aggregation for the radio and network chapters. Dante Chinni conducted the data aggregation for the ethnic, alternative and magazine chapters. Paul Hitlin served as a final reader of all chapters. Jennifer Fimbres managed the budget and distribution.

The firm of Carter Cosgrove designed the website. David Vaina implemented the design and construction of the site with the assistance of Chinni and Malhotra. Tom Avila aided in the visual design of the website as well as the Executive Summary. Pamela Nabholz took the photos that appear on the site. Wendy Kelly of WLK Design will publish the executive summary.

Amy Mitchell, PEJ’s associate director and research director, supervised the project. Tom Rosenstiel is the Project’s director.

Evan Jenkins, a longtime New York Times editor who is now a consulting editor of the Columbia Journalism Review, was the copy editor.

More than twenty-five people served as readers of the chapters. Among them are: Charles Bierbauer, John Carroll, Sandy Close, Wally Dean, Rick Edmonds, Paul Friedman, Ed Fouhy, Bob Giles, Dan Gillmor, Lawrence Grossman, Mark Hanzlik, Samir Husni, Richard Karpel, Katie King, Bill Kovach, Scott Libin, Dick Meyer, Phil Meyer, Victor Navasky, George Niesen, Bob Papper, Jon Petrovich, Deborah Potter, Adam Powell, Lee Rainie, Alan Seraita, Al Stavitsky, Roberto Suro, Andrew Tyndall and Dale Willman. Their thoughtful insights and suggestions greatly improved the chapters, but the readers are in no way responsible for the analysis or narrative accounts in this report. Moreover, the readers were not sources for information, unless explicitly cited in footnotes. In no case did a reader serve as an anonymous source for anything in the report.

Finally, the project could not have been completed without the extraordinary support, both financially and personally, of the Pew Charitable Trusts, particularly Don Kimelman, our friend and colleague, and Rebecca Rimel, whose idea this report was in the first place.